Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Umbaglo

Chapter 3 Annex B

9 posts in this topic

Chapter 3 Annex B: Unit Ability tags

In this sub-chapter we will go more in depth about Unit Ability tags.

Edited by Mechalomaniac

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

(Transform)

A (Transform) tag next to an ability indicates that the ability has the mech change into a a different form; such as the flight modes of various mobile suits, the different forms of the Getter series, or even the Brave series robots' ability to combine with other machines. All (Transform) tag abilities can only be activated or deactivated in the Transform Phase.

There's no limit to the number of (Transform) tags that a unit may have, and it's very uncommon for a unit to be able to obtain a new one that's not on it's stat block from the start. However, a maximum of one (Transform) may be active at a time. If no (Transform) is active, then the unit is using it's basic stats as per the original Hangar post.

Normally, a unit will deploy with no active (Transform), however players may declare that their mecha will deploy in any (Transform) mode that they are able to use (IE, they cannot declare that they are in a (Transform) mode that requires an evolution cost that has not yet been paid, or requires a terrain that is not present in the battle). In addition, some machines may have their own stated default (Transform) mode active.

Edited by Umbaglo

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

(Regen)

A (Regen) tag next to an ability indicates that the ability allows the mech to recover some of it's HP, DP, or EN each turn, either passively or at some kind of cost. At the beginning of your turns, during the Regen Phase, recover the specified percentage of HP/DP/EN. If the (Regen) ability has a cost, you may choose not to pay it, but you also do not benefit from the recovery.

While an individual mecha will typically have all it's regeneration abilities merged into a single (Regen) tag, players may add additional (Regen) tag abilities through items, terrain effects, or any other ability.

Unless specifically stated otherwise on the base stats of a unit, no machine may have more then 25% HP or DP Regeneration, or 25 EN Regeneration through any combination of inherent, item, terrain, or any other source of (Regen).

Edited by Umbaglo

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

(Barrier)/(S Barrier)/(Illusion)/(S Illusion)

This series of tags represent special abilities of the mecha (or in some rare cases, the pilot) that help it to further avoid damage, either by absorbing it or redirecting it. A mecha may only have a maximum of one of each of these abilities on it. Any item, ability, or effect that grants additional abilities of these tags will overwrite any one that already exists on the unit.

(Barrier) and (S Barrier) abilities reduce an incoming attack's Damage before they apply to the unit's HP, while (Illusion) and (S Illusion) reduce an incoming attack's Accuracy before they apply to the unit's DP. All of these abilities will typically cost some resource, and activating one to reduce incoming Damage or Accuracy will cost whatever the ability's cost is for each incoming Attack Phase affected (for example, if a unit's (Barrier) costs 5 EN per use, and it is used on 3 incoming Attack Phases, then the player must pay 15 EN.

These abilities are considered Secondary Defenses.

Edited by Mechalomaniac

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

(Armor)/(S Armor)/(Thruster)/(S Thruster)

This series of tags represent special abilities of the mecha that help it to further avoid damage, by either having specially reinforced structures or by having enhanced combat thrusters. A mecha may only have a maximum of one of each of these abilities on it. Any item, ability, or effect that grants additional abilities of these tags will overwrite any one that already exists on the unit.

(Armor) and (S Armor) abilities reduce an incoming attack's Damage before they apply to the unit's HP, while (Thruster) and (S Thruster) reduce an incoming attack's Accuracy before they apply to the unit's DP. These abilities are typically free, but some instances may have a resource cost, and activating one to reduce incoming Damage or Accuracy will cost whatever the ability's cost is for each incoming Attack Phase affected (for example, if a unit's (Armor) costs 5 EN per use, and it is used on 3 incoming Attack Phases, then the player must pay 15 EN.

Edited by Umbaglo

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

(System)

A (System) tag next to an ability indicates that the ability is especially powerful, thus requiring a limit on the number of them that can be on a unit. It does not necessarily mean that the ability is a "system", such as Zero System, though such abilities typically end up having the (System) tag.

(System) abilities can have a wide variety of effects. These effects will be laid out in the Hangar Lexicon.

Any item, ability, or effect that grants additional abilities of this tag will overwrite any one that already exists on the unit.

Edited by Umbaglo

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

(Summon)

A (Summon) tag next to an ability indicates that the ability allows you to call upon additional units in battle under your control. A mecha may only have a maximum of one of this ability on it. Any item, ability, or effect that grants additional abilities of this tag will overwrite any one that already exists on the unit.

A (Summon) ability will list the specific units that you can call upon, IE X) Flash System (Summon): GX-Bit x 5. During your Special phase, you can summon any number of the listed units, up to the maximum number listed. A summoned unit does not get any phases in the turn it's summoned. As well, in the Special phase you can also choose to unsummon any units still out. Unsummoned units are considered to be docked in a (Mothership) (see the rules below).

You must also own a number of copies of that unit equal to the number that you want to summon. Summoning a unit also causes it to be considered in use for any other battle. If any summon is destroyed, it cannot be resummoned during this battle, though it does not require you to pay to repair it before you can use it in battle again. Summons also do not give bounty rewards when destroyed.

Summon units are considered to be separate units on your team's turn, and must be posted for separately, having all the same phases that a normal unit has. Unless specifically stated, Summon units are considered to be piloted by AI Level 1. Lastly, should the summoning unit be destroyed while summons are still on the field, all the summons instantly despawn.

Edited by Umbaglo

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

(Combine)

A (Combine) tag next to an ability indicates that the ability allows the unit to replace itself with a much stronger version of itself later in the battle, either by docking with support craft or by evolving itself instantly.

When the pilot of a unit with a (Combine) ability reaches 140 Morale, and if they have all of the listed requirements in their inventory, they may choose to activate the ability in their Transform phase to instantly change to the listed unit, fully recovering all HP, DP, and EN, but also causing their Morale to drop back down to 100.

The following transfer rules are also in effect:

  • All items on the starting unit transfer over to the new unit, however if the new unit has less item slots then the base unit, you must choose what items end up being carried over.
  • All pilots on the starting unit transfer over, with you choosing which ones carry over if there is less pilot slots in the new unit (though the main pilot MUST be one of the pilots carried over).
  • If the new unit has more pilot slots then the base unit, you may choose new pilots to deploy into those slots.

A (Combine) ability cannot be used if the resulting unit has a Rank that would be higher then the rank limit of the fight.

Edited by Umbaglo

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Temporary HP/DP

While not a bracketed ability, many skills and abilities will grant the unit various amounts of Temporary HP or DP (THP/TDP). Temporary HP and DP have the following special rules:

  • Each source of Temporary HP and DP counts as it's own pool, and a player may choose to use any pool to absorb incoming attacks, however a specific pool must be fully expended once chosen before another pool may be used to absorb the attack.
  • Temporary HP and DP is spent first on incoming attacks, except for weapons that state they ignore Temporary HP or DP. For example, if you have 5000 Temporary HP and 10000 HP and receive an attack dealing 6000 Damage, then the 5000 Temporary HP is spent first, and then the remaining 1000 is taken from your HP.
  • Temporary HP and DP can go over your machine's maximum HP and DP, but do not count in terms of determining your maximum HP/DP. For example, if you have 5000 Temporary HP and 8000 remaining HP out of your 10000 HP, your maximum HP for things like Perseverance is still 10000.
  • Any effect which is based on your remaining percentage of HP or DP does not take Temporary HP and DP into account. For example, if you have 5000 Temporary HP and 5000 remaining HP our of your 10000 HP, your remaining HP is still 50%, even if your total effective HP is 10000.
  • An individual source of Temporary HP and DP cannot stack with itself, though a unit may have an unlimited number of sources of Temporary HP or DP. A new application of Temporary HP or DP from the same effect overwrites any amount of Temporary HP or DP that effect still has remaining. For example, if you earned 5000 Temporary HP from Potential, and then somehow managed to earn more from Potential while you still had 3000 remaining, this pool is refilled back to 5000.
  • Temporary HP or DP earned due to an ability on the Main Pilot of the unit, such as Potential or Guts, can only be used as long as that pilot is still the Main Pilot. If any ability is used that changes the pilot, the pool becomes unusable, though it does not disappear. Once the pilot that earned the pool becomes the Main Pilot again, that pool also becomes usable.
Edited by Umbaglo

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0